Our leadership and organisation

The Accountable Authority is ASQA’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO), who is appointed for a period of five years.

The Ministerial Statement of Expectations clarifies the CEO’s role and responsibilities and, by definition, the expectations of ASQA as a best-practice regulator. The statement outlines ASQA’s priorities and underpins our strategic objectives.

Chief Executive Officer

Ms Saxon Rice, Chief Executive Officer

CEO Saxon Rice has extensive experience across the VET and employment services sectors as well as the public policy process. Ms Rice previously held a range of senior government, VET and management positions. She was Assistant Minister for Technical and Further Education in the former Queensland Government from 2012 to 2015, and Chair of the then Ministerial Industry Commission responsible for industry engagement.

Ms Rice is a former Director of Global Business Development for an Australian employment services company and was responsible for significant growth into new countries in the European and Asian markets. Ms Rice has also served in a range of Senate Committee Secretariats, including as Acting Secretary and Principal Research Officer to the Senate Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade Committee. More recently, she was a Member of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal from 2016 to 2018 and is a Member and Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Ms Rice commenced as a Commissioner of ASQA on 16 April 2018, before being appointed as Chief Commissioner and CEO (initially Acting) on 7 October 2019. With effect from 1 January 2021, Ms Rice was appointed CEO for a period of five years.

Deputy Chief Executive Officer

Christina Bolger was appointed to the newly created role of Deputy CEO in September 2020. Ms Bolger previously held leadership roles in the Australian Public Service in policy, regulation and service delivery, with experience in a range of  areas including health, rehabilitation, quality and safety.

She holds an Executive Masters in Public Administration (ANZSOG, ANU) and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Senior Leadership

Ty Emerson, Executive Director, Regulatory Insights and Impact. Oversees regulatory policy and design, intelligence, evaluation and strategic reviews, data analysis and impact, and digital systems and transformation.

Steve Maillet, Executive Director, Regulatory Engagement and Education. Ensures strong communications, engagement and collaboration with external stakeholders, and oversees the key regulatory function of education.

Simon Thorn, Executive Director, Corporate. Responsible for corporate and support functions, including ASQA’s people, finance strategy and internal control systems.

Carmen Basilicata, ​​Executive Director, Quality Assessment and Compliance. Oversees the efficient and effective operation of ASQA’s assessment and compliance functions. 

Organisation structure

Below is ASQA’s national organisation structure, as at 14 September 2021. 

ASQA Organisational Chart
Was this page helpful?