ASQA Executive and Organisational Structure

New governance arrangements passed by the Australian Parliament on 24 August 2020 mean that ASQA commissioners have been replaced with a single head of agency who is the accountable authority. The agency will be supported by an advisory council (once appointed) comprising experts from areas such as regulatory practice, sector and business engagement and education and training.

The National VET Regulator is also ASQA's Chief Executive Officer, who is appointed by the Governor-General for up to five years.

Chief Executive Officer

Saxon Rice

Ms Saxon Rice, Chief Executive Officer

Saxon Rice has extensive experience across the VET and employment services sectors as well as the public policy process. Ms Rice previously held a range of senior government, VET and management positions. She was Assistant Minister for Technical and Further Education in the former Queensland Government from 2012 to 2015, and Chair of the then Ministerial Industry Commission responsible for industry engagement.

Ms Rice is a former Director of Global Business Development for an Australian employment services company and was responsible for significant growth into new countries in the European and Asian markets. Ms Rice has also served in a range of Senate Committee Secretariats, including as Acting Secretary and Principal Research Officer to the Senate Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade Committee. More recently, she was a Member of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal from 2016 to 2018 and is a Member and Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Ms Rice commenced as a Commissioner of ASQA on 16 April 2018, before being appointed as Chief Commissioner and CEO (initially Acting) on 7 October 2019. With effect from 1 January 2021, Ms Rice was appointed the National VET Regulator and Chief Executive Officer for a period of five years.

Deputy CEO

Christina Bolger

Deputy CEO and Executive General Manager, Quality and Risk, Christina Bolger was appointed to this newly created role in September 2020. Ms Bolger has held leadership roles in the Australian Public Service across policy, regulation and service delivery, with experience in a range of program areas including health, rehabilitation, quality and safety.

She holds an Executive Masters in Public Administration (ANZSOG, ANU) and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (GAICD).

Senior Leadership

Simon Thorn, Executive Director, Corporate

Accountable for corporate and enabling functions including ASQA’s people, finance strategy and internal system of controls.

Ty Emerson, Executive Director, Regulatory Insights and Impact

With responsibilities for data and intelligence analysis, application and impact.

Carmen Basilicata, ​​Executive Director, Quality Assessment and Compliance

Overseeing the establishment of efficient and effective operations of the assessment and compliance functions.

Steve Maillet, Executive Director, Regulatory Engagement and Education

Ensuring strong engagement and collaboration with external stakeholders as well as the key regulatory function of education.

Organisation structure

Below is ASQA’s national organisation structure, as at 6 April 2021. Some of the functions shown are performed in multiple ASQA offices across Australia.

ASQA Organisational Chart
Was this page helpful?